2004 Recap (7 days late)

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?
Well, I was in a real relationship for a large part of 2004. That was new (and, I hope I'm not stepping on the toes of a question-to-come, but I have to say that I'm, like, the best boyfriend ever). I lived in New York for a few months and San Francisco for a few months. Also new. I ate nothing but stuffed mushrooms and split pea soup for almost two weeks. Again, something I'd never done before!

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
New Year's Resolutions? I think not. I never bother with those. One shouldn't need the start of a new year to light a fire under one's hiney. I'm a proponent for progress and change year 'round.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My friends won't have babies. I beg and I plead, but they won't do it. (Granted, the only reason I Would want anyone to pop one out is because Gap Kids has the most adorable mittens this winter)

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My friends won't die. I beg and I plead, but they just won- I mean, Good Heavens, no!

5. What countries did you visit?
I'm a lame-o and didn't visit any countries outside the one I live in. I did do a lot of shopping at United Colors of Benetton, though, and when I was much younger I thought that was a country.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?
You know, some alone time. Quality time with me, myself, and I. A little me on me action. And a job. A job would be nice. But only if it doesn't interfere with the me on me action.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Easter Monday. And December 15th. And, as Salt n' Pepa said: "It's none of yo' business"

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Not hanging myself from the shower curtain rod (with a belt that matched my shoes, of course)? Actually, no. I'm entirely too proud of myself for what I've overcome/accomplished this year. I managed to learn more about myself, realtionships, love, cats, loving cats, cleaning bathrooms, and nitric acid in 9 months than some people learn in an entire lifetime.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Can I say that I've had so much success that any failures seem entirely too insignificant to mention (or even recall)? I can and I will!

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing major, really (except for this afternoon? When I was so hungry that I thought I may or may not have been dying. No, I was. I was wasting away. My vision was going all wonky. My limbs - my limbs felt like Jell-o. I couldn't pick up my very own head! It was all too much.)

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I don't think I bought much this year (a direct result of being buck-ass broke). Actually, I really love my new black Kenneth Coles. Wait, no. My grey zippy hoody from the Gap. Goes with everything. It was an investment, really.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My brother's. He ended a realationship of six years. I can't even imagine how hard that must be. I'm also proud that he's handled it so well and turned to his family for support (something he's never done before).


13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Well, my brother's ex-girlfriend's behavior has been less-than-satisfactory, but this is the 2004 recap, not the 2000-2004 recap. I guess my ex-boyfriend's. For reason I've already gone into.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Groceries? Is that sad? I should have rented out a corner of aisle 12 at that Safeway on Market street. I spent so much time there (mainly because I wasn't willing to go 27 weeks without food or beverage). I guess I spent a lot on art supplies too (I'm still bitter about the paper that cost me $2 a sheet).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Moving to New York. Moving to San Francisco. Going back to school. Kate coming home from China (even though we still haven't seen eachother since)!

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?
Oh What a World, Rufus Wainwright (because he played that for me the night we met); February, Dar Williams (because I played that for myself when I knew I was leaving); Defying Gravity, the Wicked soundtrack (because I played it about 40 bazillion times after I saw the show)

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:a) happier or sadder? Happier? Yes, happier. Happier that I'm wiser.
b) thinner or fatter? Thinner...and I'm over it...not really.
c) richer or poorer? Don't make me use the phrase "buck-ass broke" again.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
I wish I'd gone out more. Spent more time with my friends while I was in New York. I wish I'd explored San Francisco a hell of a lot better.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Sex. I wish I'd had less sex. No, really.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
I spent Christmas with my family. It was quiet, nice. I'm over it. Christmas is so last year.

21. Did you fall in love in 2004?
Yes.

22. How many one-night stands?
One? Is it still considered a one-night stand if it actually turns into a nine-month relationship?

23. What was the best book you read?
Eats, Shoots, and Leaves, Lynne Truss. Fucking hilarious book. I'm sorry, but nothing is funnier than the history of the apostrophe.

24. What was your greatest musical
discovery?
Rufus Wainwright, Dar Williams (more of a rediscovery, really).

25. What did you want and get?
A boyfriend.

26. What did you want and not get?
A boyfriend.

27. What was your favorite film of this year?
So many good ones this year. Finding Neverland was great, but I might be saying that because I just saw it and because of Johnny Depp. Hero was probably one of the most visually satisfying movies I've seen in a long time.

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 22 (I had to think about that for a second). I went out to dinner with my family. I was very anti-birthday (and, incidentally, anti-family) at the time.

29.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Knowing that I would be continuing school in San Francisco. It was hard for me to leave that place. I felt like I finally figured things out and felt good about my decisions (only took me 2 prior schools and 3 prior majors to figure it out).

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?
My Boyfriend is Inevitably Going to Look Worse Than Me Anyway...

31. What kept you sane?
Thor (one of his cats), my friends, my family. Definitely wouldn't have made it through the last few months of this year without their support (and scratch marks).

32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Johnny Depp! Good lord, will he ever stop looking fantastic? Also, Kate Winslet (and I started saying this well before I'd seen or even heard of Finding Neverland. You can imagine the wet dreams that followed).

33. What political issue stirred you the most?
I'm over politics.

34. Who did you miss?
I miss Thor. He's a mean old nasty cat who would eat your face off in an instant, but he loved me. He loved me unconditionally and I miss that mean old nasty cat. I miss sleeping with him tucked up against my chest. I miss that a lot.

35. Who was the best new person you met?
I met so many great people in California! Dana stands out at the top of the list. The girls from my Printmaking class (and even my printmaking teacher). Maybe Karen, though. Karen from upstairs. She was there for me when I needed someone there for me.

36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.
I could ctrl+c ctrl+v a lot of what Kate said for this last bit. I have learned to love myself. More importantly, though, I've learned that I'm deserving of love. I've learned how to love. I've learned how to stop loving. I've learned a lot of love, and for that I would do 2004 all over again if I had to.

Posted by Taylor on January 07, 2005 @ 9:02 pm

I don't know

if it was hearing impairment or good ol' fashioned Hearin' What You Wanna Hear, but I could have sworn I heard a woman on the television ask if I was a homo in need of money. Obviously, she didn't say "homo" but "home owner", but this queer is so broke he'd kill for a three dollar bill.

Posted by Taylor on January 05, 2005 @ 12:51 am

There have been two things

keeping me from posting (not that I'm making excuses, because I hate making excuses):

1. I've had more laundry to do than you can ever even begin to imagine. You see, when you used to live a life in which you bought a new pair of pants for every time you had to go to class or the grocery store or, I don't know, the kitchen, you amass a lot of pants. And when you live with a man who has two cats that either have weak bladders or an intense hatred towards Kenneth Cole jeans you amass a lot of dirty, pee-stained pants. Thus, a lot of laundry.

2. The pop-ups! I know I've complained about them before, but they're unending. This one in particular keeps sliding up from my clock. Something about Tsunami Relief. I don't know. I feel bad. Honestly, I do. But there isn't much I can do while I'm surfing for Kelly Clarkson lyrics or trying to update this damn diary piece of crap thing.

New Year's Eve was fun. I had a fantastic time at the party, but my brother puked on me earlier in the evening. You win some, you lose some. (He didn't actually puke on me. He puked into the terracotta planter that, in a moment that was not one of my most shining, I grabbed and held under his mouth. Silly me forgot that there is a hole at the bottom of terracotta planters placed there explicitly for drainage.)

But, again, the party was surprisingly enjoyable. I think I reached my drunken peak just before midnight after playing a game of beer pong, except with vodka (who even plays beer pong? What an embarrassment!). In true form, I did not make out with any guys, but did manage to make out with two girls. I believe I even kissed both of them at the same time at midnight. The Seduction of that one guy in particular never did happen (despite how insanely good I looked. Ahem), but I did manage to get his number after we had a conversation about shopping (something Connie didn't do even after a whole night of making out with him. Ahem). Love you, Con!

So yeah, Happy New Year. Where are we? 2005? Happy 2005. And hey, maybe I'll actually put my new layout up sometime before 2006.

Posted by Taylor on January 03, 2005 @ 12:04 pm