I've been really pleased

with the quality of work I've been pumping out the past couple of days. With finals looming over the horizon and can't think of a better time to be on the ball, as they say.

My watch(1)

My watch(2)

My design journal cover

Also, I got an offer to do some work for a friend of a neighbor. I think she's looking for an identity and a website. No chance in Hell I can jump on that right now, but I could really use the money so I might tell her I can get on it right at the start of the new year. She's starting a style consulting business. That sounds like something I could really have fun with! Let's ignore the fact that doing real work for real people still scares the snot out of me, please and thank you.

Let's also ignore the fact that, from the looks of this place, it would appear as if I couldn't design my way out of a wet paper bag.

Posted by Taylor on December 04, 2004 @ 12:21 pm

You can't recycle toast, can you?

Well I'll be damned if I didn't try.

Posted by Taylor on December 03, 2004 @ 2:14 pm

Dar Williams is so my lover right now.

We go way back to the eighth grade when a friend of mine's brother bought her a Dar CD for her birthday. This friend's brother was a freshman in college and, therefore, light years cooler than we could ever hope to be. Naturally, I ran out and bought that same CD (End of Summer) because this was obviously the music that all college kids were listening to and, thusly, light years cooler than the music that I was listening to at the time. It was true love at first listen, but lately she's been speaking to me on a whole new level. February leaves me in tears and The Christians and the Pagans makes me smile and I've been known to hum the chorus of As Cool as I am ad nauseam.

Speaking of Dar, where has Kate been? Call me, Darling. The you and the me and the chatting needs to be happening, like, yesterday.

I made whipped cream to top off my pumpkin pie and I licked both of the beaters clean ("clean", of course, doesn't even begin to describe the amount of effort and dedication that I invested into lapping every last speck of deliciously sweet and fluffy cream from those beaters). I tell you this for two reasons: Firstly, because it's worth noting that I delighted in not sharing the task with anyone else that might have been in beater-licking proximity; secondly, because I think there's something to be said of someone who whips their own cream.

I just left Connie a voicemail that, in its entirety, went something like this: "Hi, it's me...hold on a sec, I'm confused."

Posted by Taylor on December 02, 2004 @ 3:12 pm

I got on the subway this morning

and saw three hot guys and I thought, "Hey! Three hot guys! I never see three! This is going to be a great day!" and then the subway driver man's voice came over the intercommy thingy and said, "Something something blah blah blah train out of service mumble mumble going to be a long inbound trip." and I waited 15 minutes because 15 minutes is an acceptable amount of time to wait for a subway train exceeding it's quota of hot men to leave the station but 16 minutes was not so I (along with the three afforementioned hot men) left the train and left the station and, because I was disoriented, started walkin west until I realized that I was walking west and oriented myself and headed east through what is most definitely a "shady" part of town, even at 8:20 in the morning, and there were lots of pidgeons and left-over hookers and for some inexplicable reason it smelled like bacon and there was a homeless man sleeping on the sidewalk and I swear to you on my very own life that he was wearing my denim jacket I lost sometime between last Tuesday and today and I just wanted out out out of that "shady" part of town and finally I was out and I passed a theatre with a big sign for Little Shop of Horrors and I walked all the way up the hill to my class singing "Little shop! Little shop of horrors! Little shop! Little shop of horrors!"

Highlight of an otherwise sub-par day:

Girl in my class whose IQ is roughly the same as that of a shoe lace: "I pulled this advertisement from Cosmo cause it's, like, the only thing I read and, like, you know Cosmo, right? It's, like, the magazine for girls from, like, 17 to like, I don't know, menopause?"

Posted by Taylor on November 23, 2004 @ 11:00 pm