Making some minor changes

to the layout. So just play along when things look ugly. Not that anyone reads this anyway (except for you, Darling. Kiss kiss)!

Posted by Taylor on January 13, 2005 @ 11:14 am

Yes,

Kate introduced me to iTunes. All credit goes to her. Between the $75 she spent at the iTunes music store over the course of a month and the word-of-mouth advertising she's doing, Apple should really send her a nice t-shirt or something.

Posted by Taylor on January 12, 2005 @ 6:33 pm

Let's face it.

I am not in-the-know. There's a cutting edge, and I'm not on it. I couldn't be any further behind the curve. Who do I blame for this? Everyone but myself. I feel that it is the general public's duty to keep me well-informed. I don't like finding out about Jen and Brad's break up 4 days after it happened from my Mother. I just don't like it. This isn't about Jen and Brad's break up, though (as much as I'm sure you wish it was because we haven't heard quite enough about the lately, have we).

This is about iTunes. iTunes! Something that's been around for years! Naturally, I'd heard of it. What everyone failed to tell me is that it is the superior center of playing and organizing my music! ALSO, the iTunes Music Store? It's so awesome that it's not okay. I wish I could go to my local CD shop and buy the Kelly Clarkson/Shrek 2/Phantom of the Opera Compilation CD but I can't! Can I make that CD at the iTunes Music Store? Yessirree Bob.

The best part about iTunes, though? That nifty little blend thing it does between each track! My current playlist (descriptively titled January 11th) is a veritable potporri of tracks and iTunes doesn't care! It seemlessly transitions from Sonique to Bic Runga to Tori Amos covering Nirvana.

So, please and thank you, if, in the future, something new and fantastic comes along? Let me know.

Posted by Taylor on January 12, 2005 @ 1:32 pm

Before I dive into the meat of this entry

I'd just like to say that I really like Since U Been gone by famed American Idol pioneer Kelly Clarkson. I really like the song and, thusly, listen to it a lot. Apprently not enough, though, because I just now learned that she does not sing:

Since U Been Gone

I can breathe for the first time

I'm sober and all (yeah yeah)

Thanks to you, I've got what I want

Since you been gone.

but really:

Since U Been Gone

I can breathe for the first time

I'm so movin' on (yeah yeah)

Thanks to you, I've got what I want

Since you been gone.

Which, quite frankly, I'm relieved to hear. I would hate to think Miss Clarkson once had a problem with the sauce.

Now, I also just learned that the priority deadline for both of the schools I'm applying to is February 15th. So, in essence, I have like 15 minutes to get everything in order. I could be freaking out. I probably should be freaking out. But, can I just say? There's me, and there's a ball, and I'm on the ball. I'm so fucking on the ball. I made a quick list of everything I needed for both schools and then I transferred that list into Microsoft Word and I may or may not make an Excel spreadsheet. I'm dirty for Excel spreadsheets.

Why they need all of this by February when I won't be starting until September is beyond me. We just had September. September was, like, 15 minutes ago. And I'm expected to be ready for the next one?!

For one of the schools, I also need to produce a work of art that shows insight into a day in my life. Well, let's see here. Which medium would truly capture the essence of Double Stuf Oreos and The Golden Girls? What gives?! When are these art school people going to realize that I'm not really an artist? I'm, like, kind of a designer or something. Which is totally different. And should be treated as such.

But really, I'm fine.

Posted by Taylor on January 11, 2005 @ 4:30 pm

I really need to have some dry cleaning done

but I've been reluctant to take my clothes to the place down the street. It's run by Greeks (and I'm Greek so I'm allowed to put "Greeks" in italics). I'm much more accustomed to/comfortable with the dry cleaners of the Asian persuasion. I loved my dry cleaner/wash n' fold in San Francisco. She yelled at me for having too many scarves and told me all of my bags are "very well made...very pretty." She could also get out cat pee like a son of a bitch.

I did see a dry cleaner tonight that was sandwiched between a Chinese take-away and a nail salon. Chinese take-away. Nail salon. Dry cleaner. Are we seeing the connection here?

Posted by Taylor on January 08, 2005 @ 5:10 pm