Three things that make me angry:

1. Elementary school children with backpacks on wheels.

2. People who don't realize that there are two sides to every escalator: The side for people who stand and the side for people who move.

3. Being asked to buy kitty litter for someone else's cats who are, incidentally, use your messengers bags and scarves and sketchbooks for kitty litter anyway.

Posted by Taylor on November 18, 2004 @ 12:46 pm

Mother turned 51 earlier this week.

She doesn't look 51 and she certainly doesn't act 51, but, alas, her time has come. Mother is going through the change. All in all, I'd say she's coping well. I mean, she must have known it was coming sooner or later. I think her way of dealing with it is to talk about it. Because she talks about it. A lot. She'll call and say something like, "Yeah, I'm having mashed potatoes with dinner tonight because, you know, I'm going through the change." Or maybe something like, "I'm just in the car on my way to work because, well, I'm going through the change. I had no idea such banal things could be dictated by the body's looming infertility, but what do I know?

Posted by Taylor on November 17, 2004 @ 1:31 pm

My computer has become overrun

with Adware. I can't open Internet Explorer without at least two to three pop-ups, well, popping up. I run Adaware almost everyday and Norton Antivirus weekly. Norton has found 46 at-risk files that it doesn't know how to get rid of. I've run Live Update numerous time and, I think, updated my virus definitions. I can only think of one solution at this point: throw this computer away and buy a new one.

Posted by Taylor on November 13, 2004 @ 9:20 am

I've found the silver lining

of not having any groceries in the house (and thusly not eating) for over a week. No dirty dishes to wash!

Posted by Taylor on November 12, 2004 @ 12:02 pm

Yesterday was very cold and very wet

and really quite ugly. It's really too bad that, besides the whole protection-from-rain thing, I find umbrellas so impractical. I never know what to do with one when I'm through with it. I can't justify toting around a rolled-up wet thing all day that may or may not cooperate with my outfit. What's that rule of thumb again? Belt to shoes to umbrella?

For the record, it's an exemplary fall San Francisco day today.

Look at me. Just look at me. I've been reduced to talking about the weather in a valiant effort to avoid posing the moral question of whether or not it's okay to sleep with your ex-boyfriend whose bed you're still sleeping in.

I guess my effort wasn't so valiant afterall. Back to the weather, then.

Part of me is really looking forward to a New England winter. You know, the romantic part of me. The part that likes hot chocolate and scarves and Christmas Carols and late nights lit white from falling snow.

Another part of me would rather live on the streets of San Francisco than go home for good in mid-December. Mostly, that's the part of me that has to get behind the wheel of a car and take to the snowy roads for the first time in 3 years. It's worth noting that that was also the winter of 1,000 Car Crashes. Well, maybe I didn't crash 1,000 cars but I did total one and smash up another all within a span of 8 days.

Posted by Taylor on November 12, 2004 @ 10:26 am