I haven't repeatedly taken the wrong fork in the road of life.

I'm just taking the scenic route. Right?

Posted by Taylor on November 10, 2004 @ 9:03 pm

I've somehow managed

to become fairly good friends with a girl whose name I couldn't produce if you held a knife to my throat. She's in one of my classes and we started casually chatting at the beginning of the semester. Lately, however, our relationship has grown beyond the classroom. Just last week we spent the afternoon shopping and today we walked all over creation together trying to find a particular mannequin (for drawing, not for dressing). I know all sorts of things about her. I know she's from Pennsylvania but spent a lot of time in New York City because that's where most of her friends are. I know she drives a beat-up Toyota Tercel with one wheel in the grave. I know that she's attended 3 colleges prior to our current and had just as many previous majors. I know that her best friend likes shiny things shaped like stars (I asked if he is a monkey. He isn't). The only thing I don't know is her name! I've tried everything, too. I've asked to see her school ID and her license. She's embarrassed of her photos. I've tried to sneak a peek at my teacher's roster to see if any of the names rings a bell. I don't think my teacher even takes attendance anymore. I even tried the old Seinfeld trick of introducing another friend of mine (whose name I know quite well) to her to see if she'd introduce herself. No such luck. I suppose I should just be grateful that there are only 10 classes remaining and then I'll never have to see what's-her-face again.

Posted by Taylor on November 10, 2004 @ 5:15 pm

I pass a girl every morning

on my way to the subway. She is in High School. She is French. She is on her way to the French-American High School down the hill from where I live which means she can't be any older than 18. She is usually with a gaggle of other French girls, chatting in French and motioning with their hands in that oh-so-French way. There is something about this particular girl, though. She has this magnetic quality. She is fairly plain looking, nice wire-framed glasses. Straight brown hair, round cheeks, pouty lips. But every morning I pass her and I can't help but stare. I think she's starting to notice and I don't think she cares because I don't think I'm the first person to feel this way about this girl. It's inexplicable, really.

I particularly enjoy my morning walks to the subway. Naturally, I make the same walk whenever I want to go downtown, but it's not the same as my morning walk. My street is typically pretty congested with morning commuters (more so now with the construction), but I never feel overwhelmed by the noise. I see the same people making the same trips every morning. I feel like I play a part in those brief 8 or so minutes.

I sat next to a little girl on the subway this morning. She was with her mother. I'm not much for children, but I've seen this little girl before and she is awfully cute. This morning she told her mother that she misses Cookie. I don't know if she was talking about a stuffed bear, a new kitty, or an actual cookie , but I started to miss Cookie too.

Posted by Taylor on November 08, 2004 @ 8:54 pm