This is it.

My very last Weekend of Fun and Spontaneity. Of course, I say that like I�ve actually had a Weekend of Fun and Spontaneity anytime in the recent past, which, you know, is entirely untrue.

I start my job on Monday, though. I start my job in the circulation office at a local newspaper. The job that mostly consists of answering phones and keeping track of customers and, from time to time, talking to old people. My boss said that sometimes the old people call and all they really want to do is talk.

�My boss said that sometimes the old people call and all they really want to do is talk.�

-Me, 5 second ago

Okay, so it�s not going to be the perfect job, but what is? (I�ll tell you what is. An Oreo tester would be a perfect job. But only after they�d already eliminated the faulty Oreos.) It�s going to pay well and has health benefits and between the 40 hours a week I�ll be spending at the office and not having any friends to go out with, I think I have a real nice opportunity to sack away some money (AAU finally stopped sending checks. Either they realized I�m not on the payroll and never was or that�s the end of whatever was left from one of my student loans).

Despite the old old people I really think that this is all that I need right now. I need some place to be and the fact that they�re going to pay me to be there only makes it more worth my while.

Posted by Taylor on February 04, 2005 @ 11:48 am

I feel good.

I feel better. I feel like more chicken lo mein, but I ate it all for breakfast.

I saw Hide and Seek with my brother last night. It stands to be said that my family is, in general, not particularly touchy-feely. Mother is apt to give out a hug here or there, but the rest of us? We don't touch. It's just an unspoken rule.

Last night, during the movie, it took every last fiber of strength in my body NOT to jump out of my chair and into my brother's lap. I may or may not have grabbed his arm at one point. I think I blacked out shortly thereafter. Truly, truly frightening thing.

And then, because I couldn't sleep (and, quite frankly, don't think I ever will again), I called J. Actually, I returned his call from the night before. It was lovely. It was really nice. It was just how I wanted it to be, but wasn't sure it could be so soon. I'm glad to have found a friend in him. I'm glad that he's doing so well and proud of the strides he's made already.

Also, I'm glad that I'm going to be working 40 hours a week starting Monday so that I will have BETTER things to talk about.

Posted by Taylor on February 03, 2005 @ 1:40 pm

I was tersely chastised by Kate after my last post.

I am not to make her cry before noon! I honestly couldn�t agree with her more. The crying before noon thing is completely overrated.

Besides, I have larger problems to deal with. For starters, the largest pan we have in this God forsaken house? The very largest? Only large enough to fry up 5 pieces of bacon at a time. I�m a 12-pieces-of-bacon-at-a-time kind of guy. I�m not, however, a rinse-and-reuse kind of guy. So that leaves me with a low bacon count each and every morning. Now that�s something to cry about.

Equally tear-worthy is my parent�s revived love affair with Yanni. YANNI. They went to see him last night. And before you ask (because I know I sure did when I found out that he was even still alive), yes. Yes, he still has the mustache. So now I find myself turning up my iTunes in order to drown out the free audio sample of Written on the Wind, one of Yanni�s latest tracks that my father has taken to listening to over and over again.

On a brighter side of things, if AAU keeps it up, I won�t have to get a job until 2026. They sent me another check yesterday. I don�t know where the money is coming from or why it�s owed to me, but these are questions I really care not to ask.

(Also, quickly, just to add to the last post, I never did speak with him. He wasn�t home. I emailed. He hasn�t emailed back. I�m over it.)

Posted by Taylor on January 30, 2005 @ 12:11 pm